Cinema Treats From Film Blogging Friends

Image

Today I received two lovely packages in the mail, and they truly made my day! First, my dear friend Ryan McNeil, blogger (and podcasting extraordinaire) of The Matinee sent me a fantastic treat. Along with a lovely note, Ryan sent along a French Film postcard from the TIFF Cinematheque, the 2-Disc Limited Edition release of E.T., and The Chaplin Collection DVD release of The Great Dictator.

In a word: SQUEE. These are gorgeous releases, with juicy special features (and hello, the E.T. cover is a work of art)! 

Ryan has been a true friend and a real supporter of my work here at Reel Feminist, and I just want to say a huge THANK YOU to him for all the support and encouragement. This year has really had its trials and tribulations, and it’s tough to be a film blogger who can’t treat herself to DVD releases because she’s short on funds. It really means a lot to be sent a couple well-loved DVDS from a friend and colleague–especially one you really respect and admire. You should check out his site–he has new content EVERY DAY.  

Secondly, you’ll see in my (apologetically grainy) images, a few posters and postcards which are courtesy of the amazingly talented Alex Kittle, aka Film Forager. Alex is a supremely talented artist (and blogger, too!) who puts her love of film into her art. Hidden in there is a piece of work from her Etsy page that I recently purchased for a friend’s Christmas present (in fact, I purchased two posters from her). Alex’s work is currently on sale at her Etsy page, and I missed the sale by a couple hours, so she thoughtfully threw in one of my FAVORITE works by her–the insanely hysterical “Fuller–Go Easy on the Pepsi!” print that immortalizes Home Alone. I seriously crack up every time I look at this poster. 

Lastly, Alex also sent me two postcard prints (and they happened to be two of my favorites): ImageDr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem from The Muppets, and her Tangled movie poster. They’re lovely, and they’re hanging up on my door as soon as I get home tonight. 

I just want to say a big THANK YOU to Alex for really making my day with this–she too has been a huge supporter of Reel Feminist, and she’s just an all around solid, good person with lots of passion and drive.

Today’s surprises really reminded that after over just a year of blogging independently (and, more recently at Filmoria.co.uk), I’ve really made a solid network of friends, colleagues, and supporters in the blog world. I can’t thank my readers and fellow bloggers enough for all their kind words of encouragement, comments, and Twitter conversation. I can’t thank YOU enough, either.

Thank you, film friends, for everything!

One thought on “Cinema Treats From Film Blogging Friends

  1. Aw man that is an awesome gift from Ryan! You had a good mail day today! Thanks so much for the kind words (and linkage!), I’m really glad you liked all the stuff I sent. And thank you again for buying!

Leave a Reply

